About me

I’m female, 35, and married to a Alex, who is a Maths teacher. We have two small boys, who’ve both started primary school, and live in a semi-detached house in central Stockport (UK) with a big garden for them to run about in. So far, so normal.

I also work as a Medical Physicist 4 days a week, looking after Nuclear Medicine imaging systems at a large hospital in central Manchester. I have a BSc in Physics with Medical Physics, an MSc in Medical Physics and a PhD in Positron Emission Tomography. I arrive late and leave early on Thursday and Friday so I can be present at the school gates. Around this, I volunteer as a STEM ambassador, direct a wonderful network of (predominantly) female scientists called ScienceGrrl, run, hang out with my friends, eat out, watch a bit of TV and a few movies, do Pilates and weights, play cello, read the occasional book and get out to see the occasional play or concert, star-gaze through my telescope, play and teach piano, stomp about in the countryside with my family, preach and help with the children’s clubs at church… and am just learning how to keep bees. I’m also a regular on facebook, I can be found on Twitter as @alrightPET – and now I blog, too.

Whilst I do physics for a living I would never define myself as a physicist. Our world is too wide and wonderful a thing to only be interested in a small sector of it, and my interests stretch across the entire natural world to space beyond, and dip into most areas of human endeavour (except, possibly, football).

Under-pinning all this is my Christian faith. I was born and raised in a devout Christian family but decided to follow Jesus myself at the age of 13. Over 20 years later, I cannot get away from the sense that there is ‘something more’ to life, and still believe that that ‘something more’ is embodied in Jesus Christ. He remains the centre of my life. However, I often struggle with some of the ethics, structures, and dogma that have become associated with Him, so much so that my faith is now more about bringing my questions to God than knowing the answers.

Leave a Reply

